Bach to Rock

Matt Rehfeldt

"Bach to Rock" is a diverse mixture of different styles of music played on many different instruments by one man, Matt Rehfeldt, including his own arrangements of some well known classics, 6 original works by him, and 1 original by his brother, Andy.

Matt Rehfeldt: cello, guitar, bass, keyboard, percussion, violin and viola

  1. Prelude: Suite for Lute No. 4 BWV 1006a: Composed by J.S. Bach and transcribed for cello by Matt who also added a keyboard bass line.
  2. Gifts from Heaven: Composed by Matt for his daughters Mallory and Shayla, but dedicated to all children.
  3. Song for Kim: Composed by Matt for his gorgeous, supportive, humorous, generous and loving wife, Kim.
  4. The Swan: Composed by Camille Saint-Saëns as the 13th movement of The Carnival of the Animals, originally scored for cello and 2 pianos, here arranged for cello, classical guitar and bass by Matt.
  5. Flight of the Bumble Bee: Composed by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov for his opera Tale of the Tsar Sultan and arranged by Matt for 2 electric guitars, bass and drums.
  6. Damas Country Etude: Composed by Thomas Damas for classical guitar and arranged by Matt with bass and drums in bluegrass style.
  7. The Grand Staircase: Composed by Matt and named after one of the most beautiful places on our planet.
  8. Ode to Chet: Composed by Matt for Chet Atkins and his influence as a great guitarist and human being.
  9. Nessun Dorma: Composed by Giacomo Puccini for his opera Turandot and arranged for 6 celli by Matt.
  10. Motto Perpetuo: Composed by Niccolo Paganini originally for violin and piano, transcribed for cello by J. Klengel and classical guitar by Matt.
  11. Proteus Module: Composed by Andy Rehfeldt originally for his father on flute with recorded keyboard accompaniment by Andy, here with the flute part transcribed for cello with flanger by Matt.
  12. John 3:16: Composed by Matt for the Bible verse (John 3:16) "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
  13. Progression in 7: Composed by Matt originally for classical guitar, then arranged with electric guitars, bass and drums with subtle underlying keyboard parts.
  14. Largo from Xerxes: Composed by George Frideric Handel as the opening aria of his 1738 opera Xerxes and arranged for cello and classical guitar by Matt.

Recorded at Rehfeldt Productions Studio in Bellingham, WA. Mixed and mastered by Scott Vance, Redlands, CA. Artwork and graphics by Todd Beringson. © 2015 Rehfeldt Productions.

This CD is dedicated to the Memory of my brother, Steve Rehfeldt (1966-2015).

Matthew Rehfeldt, cellist and guitarist, was born into a musical family. He received a bachelor's degree from the University of Redlands with a major in cello performance and a minor in classical guitar. He studied cello with Rick Mooney, Joyce Getting (U of R), Barton Frank, Ray Davis (principal cello emeritus, Seattle Symphony) and guitar with Terry Graves (De Falla Trio). Matthew was honored with the University of Redlands Most Outstanding Performer Award and was also winner of the Redlands Bowl Competition. He has performed as featured soloist with the Whatcom Symphony, the University of Redlands Chamber Orchestra, the Starry Night Orchestra and twice with the Skagit Symphony, including their Opening Night at McIntyre performance. Matt recently performed a concerto at Benaroya Hall in Seattle

A chamber music enthusiast, Matthew has frequently been featured as soloist and collaborator in the First Sunday at St. Paul's and the Music for a Starry Night concert series', both in Mount Vernon, WA, and the LaConner Institute of Performing Arts concert series. In 2007, Matt was invited to perform as an international soloist and chamber musician in the Monteverde Music Festival in Costa Rica. In 2009, he was featured live performing on cello and guitar for National public radio with violinist Anna Schaad. He is a co-founding member of Trio Lumina and founder of the Bach to Rock concert series. 

Mr. Rehfeldt has held the post of principal cellist for the Southern California Youth Orchestra, Claremont Young Musicians' Orchestra, University of Redlands Chamber Orchestra, Mancini Symphony of the Desert, Cascade Symphony, Skagit Opera, and is currently principal cellist for the Starry Night Chamber Orchestra. Matt teaches cello and guitar in his private home studio and is currently a freelance cellist and guitarist performing regularly as soloist, principal cellist, classical and rock guitarist and chamber musician throughout Western Washington and abroad. Matt's recordings include a highly acclaimed CD set of all six Bach Suites for Solo Cello, Baroque Concerti on Electric Guitar and Bach to Rock, all available on CD Baby, Amazon and itunes.

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14